Thursday, 14 July 2011

De Montford University, Bedford

De Montfort University is named after Simon de Montfort, a 13th century Earl of Leicester credited with establishing the first parliament in 1265

The De Montfort University Bedford was the sister university to De Montfort University Leicester, and together they made up one of the largest universities in the UK.
Over 3,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students studied at Bedford, along with another 20,000 or so at the Leicester centre.

In 2006 there was an educational merger with the Bedford campus of DeMontfort University
its name was changed to The University of Bedfordshire and relocated to a central site leaving this behind.

1 comment:

  1. I studied at De Montfort from 1996-1999 Polhill Campus. I did work at the Lansdowne shop and had a few lectures there; you would wait in the hall for grant cheques to be given out. Happy days 😊